Can You Sleep Your Way to Great Job? 7 Tips….

Can you sleep your way to a great job? I think likely not. But I know if you don’t sleep well, that can be a show-stopper to a great work-life.  Lack of sleep can get in the way of your performance, your edge and your mojo!

Not enough sleep — is becoming an issue for too many people. For some, it’s by choice. We are a society addicted to productivity. As we try to squeeze more out of our days, sometimes we do so at the expense sleep.  Staying up late or waking up an extra hour earlier to squeeze in a workout or get a jump on the workday.

For others, lack of sleep is not by choice. I’m hearing so many people complain that they either can’t fall asleep, can’t stay asleep or they wake up too soon – sometimes in the middle of the night.

On occasion, I experience this too. So I’ve been taking the issue very seriously – it is an essential ‘TGIM work + life’ strategy! In fact, I spoke about this in my recent webinar (Bogged Down and Overwhelmed? Tips to Help You Cope).

It’s time to wake up to the issue of ‘not enough sleep’!

Sleep is imperative for our brains to function optimally and our brains need to function optimally if we are to bring the best of ourselves to our work and life. There’s a growing body of research on the impact sleep has on our brains (and our productivity, performance, thinking, etc). Sleep consolidates our learning, revitalizes and replenishes key hormones, and more.

The Neuroleadership Institute hosted a symposium last year in which leading experts on sleep talked about the Leadership Lockdown Syndrome. According to the researchers, our brains need three things to function properly: moderate stress, good sleep and positive affect (mood). They are inter-related of course. Poor sleep affects stress and mood. Stress and mood affects sleep. And so on…it’s all connected. When leaders (or anyone) experiences high stress, poor sleep and low mood well then it’s ‘bye bye thinking capacity and hello brain freeze’.  A performance showstopper indeed! Leaders take note. And really anyone who is interested in performing optimally should take this seriously as well.

How much sleep do we need? Individuals may vary but experts say adults still need an average of 7-9 hours a night.  That may seem like a lot – but that’s what the research says (read more about some research here).

How many hours are you getting? For myself, I know there is nothing like a great night sleep. I can conquer the world when I’ve had my ample dose of great zzzz’s. I’m more creative, resilient, optimistic, energetic. And I have more discipline. When I don’t sleep well — especially if this is happening frequently, I find I’m operating on half a battery. And everything suffers: my mood (mojo), thinking, resilience, creativity, etc. I am even clumsier!

Here are some tips and ideas to ‘put you to sleep’ (literally not metaphorically, I hope!):

1) Set the intention to get enough sleep. Go to bed at a deliberate time to get enough hours.  Sometimes people get ‘busy’ and distracted and don’t realize the time. Especially true for ‘night owls’ (“oh, I didn’t realize it’s already 1am!”). Make it a point to go to bed by a certain hour so that you can get your 7-9 hours of sleep. If you are lucky enough not to have other sleep issues, it can be as simple as setting an intention and following through.

2) Create a ritual of habits that will optimize your ability to sleep. If you’ve been working, frazzled and rushing throughout your day, then make a habit to wind-down, disengage and calm your mind – at least an hour before you get into bed. If you go to bed frazzled, you may find it difficult to fall asleep or stay asleep.

3) Milk and cookies before bed! Yes, you read this right…I got this tip from Aileen Burford Mason, PH.D (scientist, and ortho-molecular nutritional expert) who recently wrote a book “Eat Well Age Better“. There’s a whole chapter on sleep. The point of milk and cookies is that getting  some tryptophan into our brain can help us sleep. Milk is a great source of trypotphan but alone, it can’t cut across the blood brain barrier. It needs a bit of help. The insulin from the carbs and sugar in the cookie help break that blood/barrier and (…here I”m skipping more of the scientific explaination:)….voila…a nice sleepy feeling. Aileen provides a much more credibly, scientific explanation but I needed very little to convince me to have milk and cookies before bed. By the way, I’ve tried replacing the milk and cookie with the occasional ice cream treat too..oh yeah!! Try it – you’ll like it. But remember: the tip is a glass of milk and a cookie (or something like that). Not the whole row of cookies!

4) Create darkess in your room: Who knew – the darkness is actually what helps create melatonin…another essential ingredient needed for good sleep. Apparantly even slight rays of light creeping in can interrupt the production of melatonin and disrupt sleep. Aileen Burford-Mason suggests trying out one of those eye masks to create more darkness. I tried it. I’m sure I look funny but it works!

5) Easy on the caffeine and red wine: I found I have to stop any caffeine by early afternoon. You may have your own ‘boundary’ but pay attention to this. As well, red wine — it may make you initially sleepy but it is a stimulant and can keep you up later.

6) Nutritional deficiencies: If you are on medications or not eating right, there’s a bunch of repurcussions from a bio-nutritional perspective that will impact your sleep. Again, a full chapter on this in Burford-Mason’s book. Worth checking out and go to someone who specializes in holistic nutrition, especially if you are on medications for other health issues. The medical field does not amply bring nutritional considerations to their prescription approaches. There are easy things you can do to balance out the deficiencies but you need to be aware of what they are.

7) Stressed out? Don’t bring this to bed: Yup, stress will rob you of a good night sleep — if you let it. There are many ways to deal with and ‘park’ the stress that can keep us awake at night. Check out my oodles of tips in the recent webinar I did on Bogged Down and Overwhelmed? Tips to Help You Cope” (It’s free – no strings attached!).

8) BONUS TIP (Update): Exercise, exercise, exercise! Ahhh, my own brain might have been in a bit of a ‘lockdown’ when I first drafted this article. I forgot to include a very key tip and a friend read this article and pointed out  that I forgot to mention how important exercise is. Regular exercise does a whole bunch of good that will help you get your quality zzzzz. So build that in! Just try not to wake too early for the workout!  A shout-out of thanks to David for the reminder!

I’m sure there are more tips (would love to hear them). But to sum up, my key points are: take sleep seriously, pay attention to what you need to get enough, practice new rituals, explore strategies — and get to bed!!

To your TGIM work + life!

Eileen

Back to TGIMworklife home

Tags: , , ,

35 Responses to “Can You Sleep Your Way to Great Job? 7 Tips….”

  1. Kicking a soccer ball Says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It
    truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something
    back and help others like you helped me.

  2. Incinerador De Grasa Says:

    Ideally you should experience a bowel movement after every meal
    but as long as you experience at least one bowel movement a day you are fine.

    Eating plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables while cutting back on the sweets will help to burn more fat.
    I make this statement to show how fast water moves through the body and also how quickly it leaves, creating a situation where there is not
    enough water for proper functioning.

  3. http://hypehope.org/ Says:

    Je viens de fêter mon quarante et unième anniversaire.
    .
    Je porte le joli nom de Blanche.
    Ce que je fais dans la vie, commerciale . Il est dit parfois que je parais un phénomène.

  4. get your ex back via text Says:

    While hanging out in friends group avoid speaking badly
    about him behind his back. In this case, all you have to do is
    slow down and stop beating around the bush in desperation and avoid doing the following.
    Always maintain a positive attitude and you will be successful soon.

  5. carb backloading pdf Says:

    Be aware of any diets that claims you will lose weight fast.
    Running, swimming, step aerobics, and walking are all great exercises for burning calories.
    The best part about this is, your vegetables will taste great.

  6. matchcover collectors price guide Says:

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time
    a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  7. natural vitiligo treatment system pdf Says:

    A definitive, positive cause of vitiligo is still
    unknown. Dermaray products are suitable for the novice or seasoned
    home phototherapy user. Nearly 7% percent of
    people suffering with this disease are due to
    the hereditary characteristics transferred by their parents.

  8. ex boyfriend guru free Says:

    I know something about this; my wife and I have been married for
    over 31 years. Gua 6, the relationship direction is direction of Southwest.
    Paul Dobransky created a system, loosely based on Moore’s categories, known as
    KWML.

  9. epic soccer training Says:

    Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I’m sure they will be benefited from this website.

  10. Dodge Dart forum Says:

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your magnificent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in
    my social networks!

  11. outdoor lounge chair Says:

    great issues altogether, you simply gained a logo new reader.
    What may you suggest in regards to your publish that you just made a few days ago?
    Any certain?

  12. United National Moving & Storage Says:

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been
    blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look
    of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!

  13. youtube video Says:

    Located on the tranquil island of Anguilla, this 5-star Mediterranean-inspired
    resort and spa boasts luxurious accommodations and the highest levels of service and hospitality.
    If you can brave the heat, tee off right around noon. In our previous travels whenever we needed additional cash we just
    went to any bank and got a cash advance on a credit card.

  14. raspberry ketone Says:

    Although there is evidence that it can indeed be helpful, you still have to
    pay attention to your diet and exercise regularly.
    Most of these items can be ordered only on the on-line and
    has become very well-liked over the last couple of months.

    Raspberry ketones have a similar formulaic structure to
    adrenaline and ephedrine, prompting some Japanese
    scientists to find out if they also had the same actions as the two other elements.

  15. http://www.europabook.eu/node/17970/ Says:

    Hi there, I found your sjte by means oof Google even as looking for a similar subject, your site
    came up, it seems to be great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, simply turned into aware of your blog through Google, and located
    that it’s realy informative. I am going tto be careful for brussels.
    I will appreciate for those who proceed this
    in future. Lots of folks can be benefgited out of
    your writing. Cheers!

  16. holidays to sri lanka Says:

    I will immediately snatch your rss as I can’t in finding
    your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognize so that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  17. Brendan Says:

    It’s very easy to find out any matter on web as compared to books, as I found this post at this web
    page.

  18. get facebook likes free Says:

    It’s genuinely very complex in this active life to listen news on TV, therefore I simply use the web for that reason, and take the hottest news.

  19. webpage Says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues using this site, since I experienced
    to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading
    instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your quality
    score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding
    this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of
    your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

  20. Lorri Says:

    Thanks for every other informative blog. The place else may just I get that kind of infomation written in such a
    perfect manner? I have a project that I am simply now operating on, and I have
    been on the look out for such info.

  21. hotels in covent garden Says:

    hello there and thank you for your information
    – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical points using this web
    site, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot
    of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in
    google and could damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content.

    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  22. paleo ground beef recipes Says:

    Definitely consider that which you said. Your favorite justification
    appeared to be at the internet the simplest factor to remember of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about issues that they just do not understand about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top as neatly as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , other
    people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thank you

  23. spy app Says:

    You should take part in a contest for one of the finest sites on
    the internet. I most certainly will recommend this blog!

  24. グッチ 長財布 値段 Says:

    グッチ 長財布 値段 What’s up to every one, it’s truly a fastidious for me to go to see
    this site, it contains helpful Information. グッチ 長財布 ハートビット

  25. kredyt dla zadłużonych bez zdolności kredytowej Says:

    I don’t even know the way I finished up here, but I assumed this post was
    once good. I don’t understand who you’re but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in the event you
    aren’t already. Cheers!

  26. torisautos.wordpress.com Says:

    Your blog post is incredible. Could I connect with you on Google+??

  27. http://my-amazing-car-blog.tumblr.com/tagged/open-road Says:

    I wish I could process my thoughts faster. Want to set-up a website such
    as this.

  28. sell my car Says:

    Interesting blog post. Would you link me to some more of your work?

  29. buy my car Says:

    Cheers forr a really well-written article.
    Really makes me want to crack operating a blog all over again. Pretty
    much any tips on how more effective to get planning…

  30. Lashunda Says:

    Remarkable article. Just how do you find your own resources.
    Usually find it a bit tough to begin

  31. sell my car london Says:

    What’s up are you currently with Twitter? Would be excellent to read
    through your later blogposts

  32. Rosalva Says:

    I like the helpful information you supply in your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog and test once more right here frequently.
    I am fairly certain I will be told a lot of new stuff proper here!
    Good luck for the following!

  33. trusted car buyers wimbledon Says:

    Hiya, are you currently on Google+?? Could be
    fantastic to read through your future blogposts

  34. buy auto wimbledon Says:

    Precisely how can you set-up your own blog site… I actually wish to
    start one up about autos, though will not appreciate how to get started.
    All assistance is drastically valued 😉

  35. AMC アフィリエイト Says:

    アフィリエイトマスターコースを購入以降は成果画面が増加してウキウキなんですが、忍者ブログに間借りしたのはちょっと失敗だったと思います。AMC受講生みたいなうっかり者はライバルブログを見て作れないと思い「SEOやめたい」と思ったりすることもあります。私が思うにツールはよりによって特別の日でして、AMC会員からhtmlサイトを出しに行くとアフィリエイトらしくないのでアフィリエイターが最高だと感じます。特別報酬で作業が妨げられることを除けば、特別受講は終わっていると思いますけど、ASPを特別単価で購入するとブロガーから怒られるのは目に見えています。

Leave a Reply

