In the News: Ramp up the ‘People’ part of your Leadership

I was invited by the Globe and Mail Careers to respond to another Mentor Minute question from a reader. They published the column in Friday’s paper ( I wrote it a while ago).

The Scenario: The readers asks…

“I’ve just completed my first year in a leadership role and had a disappointing performance review. My boss acknowledged that I have good skills in advancing projects but he said he wasn’t seeing enough effective leadership. He wants to see me ramp up the “people” side of the job. I’m at a loss. What is he looking for?”

My Response: The Mentor Minute columns don’t get posted online but I did scan a copy and you can read my response here!

It seems performance development is becoming quite a theme in my coaching business of late. I have been invited to contribute an article to Canadian HR Reporter on ‘giving feedback’ (I will post it as soon as it’s published). As well, I am doing some work for a College in Ontario – developing and facilitating a training module for leaders at the college on performance development. Specifically, I will be teaching a myriad of coaching skills that are increasingly becoming recognized as a valuable leadership competency and fundamental to the performance development cycle.

Check in again for more updates on this area.  In the meantime, here’s another Globe and Mail Mentor Minute article I contributed related to Performance Reviews.

Here’s to a TGIM Work-Life for you and your team!

Back to TGIMworklife homepage

Eileen

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

