Nothing says ‘thanks’ like….

Ever been in that crazy work mode and feel like it’s all for naught….a thankless work culture? Well not me! Sorry to gloat but I just received a beautiful bouquet of flowers from a client for a project I’ve been working on with them. It was mid afternoon and just as I was feeling the wear and tear of a busy week (and craving a snack), I get a delivery of  a beautiful bouquet of flowers…even better, chocolate-covered fruit that look like flowers! Doesn’t get  better than that!! Yummo!

click on picture to see this up close….easy on the drooling…!!

Honestly though…chocolate aside. Nothing is better in my books than knowing you are making a difference and you are appreciated.  All too often, we all get so caught up in the frenzy of our work and life that we forget to say ‘thank you’.

Thank you’s of all kinds (from flowers to a simple verbal ‘thank you’..or an email’) can make such a powerful difference. Especially when you are working hard as it seems everyone is these days.

I feel blessed that my hard work (and contribution) is appreciated and that I am making a difference. This, I must confess, is my second ‘thank you’ bouquet in a month. I received a bouquet of fresh flowers from another organization with whom I’ve volunteered some of my time and professional ‘stuff’ this year. I worked hard for them too….but it was worth it because they appreciate it (and it’s a good cause).

This ‘business’ of thank-you is serious stuff. In fact, I was just chatting about this with a coaching client of mine who was reflecting on how important it is to show appreciation for her team.  And studies (and experience!) have proven that the act of showing appreciation has a positive impact on both the giver and the receiver.

There’s loads more ways — formal and informal — to show appreciation. If interested in a few ideas of how to create more of this appreciation in your work-life, check out my article,  “Bringing Thanks to Thankless Work Culture” which was published in the Globe and Mail.

And for all of you who stop by, read my stuff and who are part of my TGIM work-life, THANK YOU!!

To a TGIM worklife filled with gratitude and appreciation.

Back to TGIMworklife homepage.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Nothing says ‘thanks’ like….”

  1. Tweets that mention Nothing says ‘thanks’ like…. « TGIM Work-Life! -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Eric Embree, Mike. Mike said: Looking at: Nothing says 'thanks' like….: Ever been in that crazy work mode and feel like it’s all for naught….a… http://bit.ly/bR7HlB […]

  2. Wendy Woods Says:

    Good for you Eileen. The bouquet looks yummy and it’s so great your client recognized your contribution.

    By the way, any chocolate left? LOL

Leave a Reply

