Hello September!

It’s Monday but most of us are off of work today because it’s Labour Day. Isn’t that a  bit ironic. Labour Day – yet we don’t work:)

In any case, in honour of Labour Day I pondered changing my blog name to “TGIM Labour-Life“. But notice how ridiculous that sounds…so nixed that idea!!

Since my last post a couple weeks ago (Beat the Back to September Blues), I’ve been asking others how they feel about September coming. Here’s a sprinkling of some of the responses I got from my Facebook friends. Notice a lot of references to ‘back to school’ – but these were all adults…..some parents, some not…but that ‘back to school’ mindset forever ingrained:)

Sharp Pencil

(Photo courtesy of Crab Mind on Flickr)

Makes me feel like routines will start all over again (homework, cold weather)…

“Kids back at school means I get to do homework all over again!”

“Makes me want to look for slowcooker recipes.”

“Excited. Less humid, still warm, and still like buying new school supplies…”

“Love it. Makes me want to go out and stock up on new notebooks and sharp pencils. No matter how many years it’s been since I was a student, September always feels like the start of a new year. “

And one still digging in the heels of resistance said: “Downright depressed. Where did summer go?”

As for me, I’m getting into the swing of it. Booking up meetings and projects for the fall – and generally just focusing on the things that I appreciate about autumn. In that spirit, I’m sharing a little quoteI stumbled across that I think is very timely:

 “There ought to be gardens for all months of the year, in which, severally, things of beauty may be then in season.” – Sir Francis Bacon.

I like the sounds of that….if your work-life (and personal life) was a garden what are you planting and what are you looking forward to reap and harvest that is uniquely special for this season?

Would love to hear from you!

To Labour Day and a TGIM work-life!

Eileen

BACK TO TGIMWORKLIFE HOME PAGE

Leave a Reply

