Five Things You May Not Have Known About Me. Now Your Turn…

I just came across a fabulous game of tag that is showing up on quite a few professional blogs this week. It’s  simply an invitation to list 5 things about yourself that others may not have known about you. It’s quite fun and I discovered it on Kim George’s blog – Kim, is a hugely talented and respected coach, consultant and book author — and after reading her post, I now know that she is also a major fan of guitarists, trees and a few other things. 

It’s really a nice thing to learn about people outside of their purely professional ‘identities’. Likewise, people who bring more authenticity to their work and personal lives ( e.g. in this case, share more of themselves) tend to have more fulfilling relationships and experiences.

So before I list my five, I want to first put this into the work-life context. Employee engagement is a huge challenge these days — so it’s worth recognizing that what often engages people at work is the people and relationship factor. People want to be known, understood and appreciated for who they are not just the specific work skills they have. 

What if we brought more of our ‘whole’ selves to our work? What conversation starters would “Five things you didn’t know about me” start in  your work life? What if you brought this to a team level? — e.g. share five things you didn’t know about our department. As a leader, how might sharing a little more of your ‘whole’ self build trust and rapport with others? What perspective are you holding about what is ‘appropriate’ to share at work and how is that serving you?

The possibilities are huge. Got any ideas? Would love to hear them.

But before I forget, here are my five:

  1. When I was just out of university I took a job as a counsellor with a traveling summer camp (Westcoast Connection) and one of the campers was Aimee Fisher (known as the “Long Island Lolita).
  2. I’ve always loved theatre, drama (TV, movies, etc.). When I was in grade 3 I was the narrator of the play “Three Little Pigs”. When my classmate goofed up his lines, I caught a giggling fit that I just could not stop. Every time I went back on stage (we had other plays that year), it happened again. Yikes! Talk about stage fright. I got over that and these days I’m flexing my ‘dramatic’ muscle in a Second City Improv course which is great fun but harder than I thought. It also provides great fodder for team building skills (see related post: Second City Taught Me to Yes And..).
  3. Many of you may know that I am a runner and have been for about 27 years. I’m more of a casual plodder these days but what you may not know is that I ran marathons when I was only age 16, 17 and 18. I come from a major ‘running family’ – my father has run more than 70 marathons, my brother is an ultra athlete (100 mile marathons) and my sister and mother have logged their share of miles as well.  We are a family that runs together. I think there’s something about playing well together that lends itself to building better relationships. Same may go for work teams. What do you think?
  4. I knit. I used to do sweaters but these days prefer the ease of scarfs. I find it meditative and I often find my creativity for other areas (e.g. work, etc.) during those ‘mindless’ knitting sessions.
  5. My favorite food – well hard to pin down because I am a major food person. Nearly everything I do has a food context (notice the food in my coaching company name: Big Cheese Coaching? But I do confess I am quite a fan of nearly any permutation of carb and cheese (lasagna, pizza, etc.)

 There you have it! Now it’s your turn to share something about yourself that we may not have known. Bring it on!

  BACK TO TGIM WORKLIFE HOME

2 Responses to “Five Things You May Not Have Known About Me. Now Your Turn…”

  1. davidzinger Says:

    I love the title to your blog and I always appreciate another voice I find on engagement. I love running and just completed my first marathon at 52, never to late to begin. I think a number of these ideas can contribute to coaching and development. Keep moving the cheese.
    David

  2. Eileen Chadnick Says:

    Thank you David! I’m glad you stopped by. I am fairly new at this blogosphere but am just loving it – and finding my ‘blog voice’. This forum is especially terrific when you meet new like-minded people such as yourself……I had quick peek at your site and it looks fantastic. I’ll make a point of visiting from time to time and maybe we can exchange some ideas.

    Wrt to running, here’s an inspiring note. My family and I were very involved with a running group in Montreal called “The Wolfpack”. Many of the original members are still running….many started in their 30s and 40’s and accomplished tremendous running feats (not ‘feets’:) Many are now in their 70s and 80s and still running! I guess running can keep you going:)

    Cheers,
    Eileen

Leave a Reply

